Print this Page


Welcome to the Consular Corps of Greater Kansas City (CCGKC). We exist as a group to foster and advance an esprit de corps amongst our members; and to promote and foster goodwill and cooperation between our countries and the United States.

Our senior consul (based on longevity) is designated as the dean and usually represents the corps for protocol purposes. The present dean is the honorary consul of Iceland, Vigdis Adaksteinsdottir Taylor. The Consular Corps of Kansas City is governed by an executive committee, which is led by the dean. The vice dean (also based on longevity) represents the Consular Corps in absence of the dean. The current vice dean is Harry McLear. The secretary general is appointed by the dean and ratified by the members. He or she assists the dean by maintaining the roster, recording minutes, sending authorized correspondence, notifying members of meetings and serving as treasurer. The current secretary general is Gino Serra.

The CCGKC presently consists of 26 consulates (2 career and 24 honorary). Career consular officers are appointed by their Head of State or Foreign Minister and are full-time servants of their government. Honorary consular officers are United States citizens and need not possess the nationality of the country they serve and are generally appointed to provide a degree of Consular representation in areas not covered by career consular officers. All career and honorary consular officials are accredited by the U.S. Department of State in accordance with the terms of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations. CCGKC also has a small number of emeritus members who may also be listed on this website.

Permanent link to this article: